Pen and ink drawing by C.R Swift, signed bottom right, dated 1959.
View of the house known as 'The Daltons', sometimes referred to as 'Bleak House' or 'Dalton's Folly', on Folly Lane, St Albans.
Folly Lane was named after this fine 18th century house at the top of the hill.
The house was renamed Bleak House after Dickens' book, some of which was written in St Albans.
At the time it was built, this house stood by itself on the edge of town. Opposite were 20 acres of land known as Gombards. This name still persists as the name of the street opposite Normandy Road leading to Worley Road.
pen and ink drawing
Accession No

Explore by Colours

Simple Name


Collection Type



Be the first to comment.